Programmes of study

At Sixth Form the School offers a range of academic A level courses, with almost all of our Sixth Formers choosing to apply to University to continue their education.

Ackworth School offers a two-year, terminally-assessed A Level Programme, with almost all students opting to study for three A Levels that are examined at the end of the Upper Sixth. Full details of options available and information on each of the Sixth Form courses can be found in the Sixth Form options booklet, which is available from the School or on the School website.

 The School ensures that students are guided, with careers and university entrance in mind, towards choosing a sound platform of subjects where they can realise their potential.

A levels offered at Ackworth include:

Art & Design (Fine Art)


Business Studies


Design & Technology

Drama & Theatre Studies


English Literature


General Studies





Further Mathematics


Physical Education



Religious Studies


Ackworth School: Statement of Qualification Offer 2017-18.

Ackworth School policy normally dictates that a student should study for three A levels, which are terminally-assessed in the Upper Sixth following a two-year programme of study. A few exceptions exist in this transitional year of academic qualifications due to there being a mix of reformed and unreformed subjects. End of year internal assessments replace the external AS examinations, in the main. These end of year exams (internal and external), together with internal assessment grades, half-termly reports, and the ongoing assessment of a students’ attitude, commitment and classroom performance, are all factors that allow teachers to determine predicted grades for UCAS applications.